Skip to main content
Info icon

Welcome to Bloomington-Normal!

Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
Local Author Joel Shoemaker Book Signing at Bobzbay Books

Local Author Joel Shoemaker Book Signing at Bobzbay Books

Date & Time
Saturday, July 1, 2023
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
Cost
Free
Location
419 North Main Street, Bloomington, IL, 61701
Phone
309-740-2012
Bobzbay Books is excited to host local author Joel Shoemaker to the shop on Saturday, July 1st for a book signing from 10AM – 12PM!
Joel’s first book, “Bacon Grief” has received great reviews and was even a book club pick for Bloomington Public Library’s “True Colors” Book Club.
About Bacon Grief: Charlie, a musical-theatre nerd with deep appreciation for sprinkle-topped ice creams and other snack foods, is active in his church and comes from a family who loves and appreciates him for exactly who he is, purple pants and all.
Tim, a lover of crinkle-cut pickles, black olives and other forgivably-disgusting crudit├ęs, belongs to a conservative Christian pastor and devout mother who move to the rural town to staff a small church that, predictably, holds little place for Tim.
After meeting online and given the green light to attend a youth group at another church, Tim and Charlie become fast friends with more and more in common. When they consider more than friendship, Tim is faced with his reality and the choice to reconcile faith and sexuality or walk away from it all.
“Teeth & Crumpets: A Florilegium”, Joel’s upcoming second book (out May 1st!) is a collection of short stories perfect for fans of Raymond Carver and poignant works of sub-genre fiction.
About the author: Joel Shoemaker has been a librarian for a decade and a magician for three! He lives in central Illinois with his husband, a frog, a fish, and his dog, Maximus. He consumes an inordinate amount of cheese.